Fashion

Brief: Take An Artist

Artist Given: Anish Kapoor

Anish Kapoor

Anish Kapoor is a British-Indian sculptor. Born in Bombay, Kapoor has lived and worked in London since the early 1970s when he moved to study art, first at the Hornsey College of Art and later at the Chelsea School of Art and Design.

When deciding how I could translate his work into fashion designs as well as focusing on his sculptures I looked at the drawings behind his works. This lead me to make some interesting mark making which features heavily in my final designs.

When responding to the artist I created my own patterns inspired by his works and also focused on shapes within his sculptures to make 2D patterns that could be put onto my final garments.

I quickly decided my collection would be a Spring/Summer collection and I began to experiment with the patterns I had created by collaging them onto garments to begin developing them into final designs. I was happy with the outcome of these developments and decided I just needed to finalise the designs to create my final collection. I also decided my model should be ‘geometric’ looking much like Anish Kapoor’s sculptures.

Garment 1

The first garment I designed is a t-shirt influenced by my initial mark making which covers the entire shirt. The design on the final garment collection is a slightly different shape to the one I drew in the development stages as I wanted a slightly more geometric, interesting look rather than just a plain t-shirt shape. I feel the garment on my final designs would be used for catwalk purposes and the development stages of the garment could be used for commercial use as it would be easier to recreate and mass produce. This is my favourite garment I have created; I think it is clear to see the steps I have taken from initial research to the final design with influences from Anish Kapoor.

Garment 2

This garment is a dress, again using the mark making I created at the beginning of the project. However, this time the mark making is inspired by the designers I looked at, in particular Minki. This design sets the colour scheme for all the garments. The shape of the dress was inspired by the trend forecasts on the WGSN website. I chose to design a drop waist dress with my pattern on the sides. I wasn’t particularly happy with this garment and felt it was the weakest out of all of my designs and stood out as if it wasn’t part of the collection. To improve this design I would choose a different garment shape, perhaps a more geometric one, and incorporate aspects of Anish Kapoor’s work as well as the designers.

Garment 3

My 3rd garment is an oversized jacket inspired by the designer too good. I used an oversized, geometric shape with one of my patterns printed onto the middle. The collar was inspired by a shirt I looked at on the WGSN website. I particularly like the different shaped buttons on this garment and think it fits well with the overall collection. If I were to do this project again I would look at this garment in particular when contemplating materials so it is clear the garment is for a spring/summer collection.

Garment 4

This design is a strappy came top strongly influenced by Anish Kapoor’s sculptures. When responding to his sculptures, I decided the shape I had created could be directly translated into a garment and is one of the designs I haven’t changed from the development stages. However, I do think the garment shape could be taken more into consideration perhaps looking more into future trends or the garment shapes of the designers I researched.

Garment 5

Another design I didn’t modify from my developments was a pair of wide leg trousers. A trend that is very much dominating commercial fashion at the moment is the A line shape and so I used this in my design and I really like how my initial mark making translated into this design.

Garment 6

The last garment in my collection is again inspired by a highstreet trend of frayed jeans. To incorporate my artists /designers into the garment I used my colour palette on the frayed ends. The jeans a re dark blue with a straight leg fit.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Leave a comment